galaxy image BitWorks Music sounds for your world

Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Merge Records Announces More Shows For Would Be Voters

Just when you thought it was safe to rock out without worrying about this election anymore--I mean, I have heard enough election coverage for about the next 50 years or so, and I'm a major political junkie--Merge Records has announced two more free concerts in support of early voting here in North Carolina. The first is in Asheville, Tuesday, October 28th at The Grey Eagle, 8PM. The lineup is:

The Reigning Sound
Tift Merritt
Chris Stamey (dBs)
Greg Humphreys (Hobex)
Electric Owls (ex Comas)

Tickets are free! As the fine people at Merge say:

Pick them up when you vote this week outside UNC-Asheville's Zeis Hall, which is by the Quad at 1 University Heights. Tickets will be handed out beginning at 10 am on Thursday, October 23rd, and will remain there during voting hours until they are all given away - from 10-6, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Monday.

Next week is Chapel Hill's turn, Saturday, November 1st, which also happens to be the last day of early voting. The show is going to really piss off the neighbors from 9AM until 1PM, at UNC's Graham Terrace, adjacent to Morehead Planetarium, which is an early voting site. They are also advertising coffee and doughnuts, and what could be better than that?! Oh yes, the music:

The dBs
Superchunk (acoustic)
Ivan Rosebud
I Was Totally Destroying It
Greg Humphreys
Regina Hexaphone

This is a great opportunity to see some of the area's most notable performers, if you're awake for it. I will be there for sure, wearing my coffee and doughnuts as we slam dance the morning away.

Now here's a little tip: I voted yesterday at the Senior Center in Chapel Hill--NO LINES AT ALL!

No comments: